Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: So who is this DRCOLLIE guy?

Hybrid View

Default So who is this DRCOLLIE guy?

A lot of folks think the "DR" in DRCOLLIE stands for doctor, but it doesn't - they're just my first and middle name initials (hey, maybe I'm a doctor of furniture?)

Since I own this forum, and have over 2,000 posts to it, moderate it and some of you will purchase from my store, I'll give you a little history and background of who I am and how I got here.

I was born in 1954 in San Antonio, Texas on an Air Force base hospital. Mom and Dad moved to Whiteman AFB in MO when I was 2 years old, where my father was Squadron Commander of the 407th Bomb Wing flying nuclear-equipped B-47's. Today that base is where the B-2 Stealth Bombers call home. In '63 he retired and joined the FAA, which took us to several places including St. Louis, Minneapolis, Chicago, Kansas City and ultimately Washington DC where he became Chief of Airline Safety Standards (those of you that are in the airline industry my father wrote most of FAR's Part 121 and 135).

I went to High School at Kirkwood High, Missouri and graduated there in 1972. My passions were motorcycles and cars, which my wife will tell you continue to this day and likely always will. I worked at motorcycle shops all through my teen years and college, and raced Husqvarna's on the motocross circuit.