Thread: Leathercraft vs H&M

Lakedweller Guest

Default Leathercraft vs H&M

I believe I have read almost every post on the forum. I am a newbie and have found this an excellent site for anyone who is about to purchase furniture!!
    I am in the market for a 2 cushion leather sofa with matching chair. After much research I have narrowed my choices to Leathercraft and Hancock & Moore.
    How do these companies compare in quality and warranties?
    Many of H&M sofas are three cushion, can these be ordered in two cushion?
    Also one more question, does Leathercraft and H&M use married leather?

Default Re: Leathercraft vs H&M

That's a LOT of posts to read!

I consider Leathercraft and Hancock and Moore to be of equal quality. H&M gets the nod with a broader product lineup and more specialty frames (such as carvings and exposed wood pieces), and in many cases may have a slight price advantage depending on the piece. Leathercraft offers some unique pieces and specializes in some smaller scale items that fit women well.

H&M has a stronger warranty/customer service policy in effect which includes lifetime replacement of all cushion cores to the original owner. Leathercraft only replaces cores that wear out in the first year. Cores rarely wear out in one year, but can and do in twelve or thirteen years. To replace a set of three seat cores at todays prices will cost close to $ 400 for standard DuPont Quaalux units. So that gives a leg up to H&M for having that policy in place.