Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New leather furniture for a novice buyer

Hybrid View

bigrnm Guest

Default New leather furniture for a novice buyer

Ok Dr. Collie,
    I am calling you Dr. because from all the threads that I have read here and elswhere, you seem to know what you are talking about. I consider you the Dr. of furniture and an expert in your field. Which is why I have finally given in and decided to enter into your forum and ask you a bunch of questions.
    Hope you are up to it!!
    I am completely new to buying leather furniture. My wife and I were convinced by several people to finally replace our old fabric couches/sofas and get leather. Trouble is, we don't know anything about what to look for. I have been doing extensive research, but after reading all the forums, it seems I didn't really learn anything at all. Here is what I thought I wanted.
    I wanted a thick, sturdy leather, strong enough to handle my 6' 1" tall and 250 lb. mass of nothing. Top Grain was what I was looking for. Kind of a brown, coffee, light chocolate color. Not too picky on color. I thought it had to be a semi-aniline dyed couch and chairs/recliners, (still up in the air about recliners, tell you why later), 8-way hand tied, kiln-dried hardwood frame, but the leather had to be soft also, but tough enough to handel me and my dog and all my god children and nieces/nephews. It is for our living room, and that is exactly what it is, a living room. We do everything there. (Eat, entertain, watch tv, etc.)
    I had researched the manufacturers who most likely would fit that bill, and came up with several. (B&Y, H&M, Leathercraft, classic leather, american leather, those were my top.) Then came Flexsteel, pallister, natuzzi, Sam Moore, and maybe a couple of others I can't recall now.