Thread: Questions on Leather Furniture

Default Questions on Leather Furniture

Duane,

My husband and I have been shopping for furniture for a few months now and everything seems to be so overwhelming. We recently moved to a new house and are looking to buy some new furniture for our family room. This is the room that will be used the most and we want to buy something better than just run of the mill sofas, something that will last us for a long time. We first wanted leather and then thought maybe upholstery was better and now we're back to leather. We have two dogs (who aren't usually on the furniture, but do lean against it and sometimes put their front paws on) and a cat, who is de-clawed in the front but not the back. We're also planning on having children soon. We informally entertain a lot and are in the family room constantly, so we want something that will really hold up.

Our style is what most people would call transitional. We like clean lines, not cold modern, but we're not super traditional either. We prefer a track arm, but I like a wooden leg that doesn't sit too high so the furniture feels "antsy". I love nailhead trim that's tailored and not over the top. We don't hate a rolled arm, but it's not our first choice, however if the color and price are right then we can make it work. We're both a bit on the tall side, I'm 5'9" and he's 5'10" so we prefer something that sits a little deeper and comfortably. Our room can handle two sofas, so that's what we're in the market for, but unfortunately that gets expensive quickly.