I've been doing this business for 24 years now, and have my share of stories, but this one is always my favorite to tell.

All customers have a 'hot' button. For most, that means a really great price. For some, its selection and help in finding the right piece for the right spot in a room. And for a very select few, its all about service.

One day I got a call out of the blue from a polite gentleman looking to purchase about thirty of my specialty handmade reproductions. He lived in The Hamptons, on Long Island, about 6 hours from my store by truck. As luck would have it, of the thirty pieces, I happened to have twenty-seven of them in stock. Its about 3 p.m. on a Saturday afternoon.

He says "I would like to buy all you have in stock."

That was a nice order, about $ 42,000.00. He didn't ask for any kind of discount, just said "bring it all up".

I said "Sure, let me call you on Monday to see when I can run my truck up to Long Island, should be in about two to three weeks before we make another run your way."

There was a pause and he said "I'd like everything here at 9 a.m tomorrow morning."

Huh?! It was 3 p.m. on a Saturday, my deliver crew had been out since 7 a.m. and were just coming back in and would be in no mood to strip the store and load a truck to be in The Hamptons in the morning.

"I'm afraid I can't do that. I can't ask my crew to do that after they've been working all day. Maybe I can get it to you by the end of next week."

He re-stated his position "I want it here tomorrow. Are you saying there is nothing you can do to get in here, that its physically impossible to do it?"

I stammered out "Well...ah....no, its not physically impossible, but it would be very expensive to have to do this, you won't like the delivery charge I would have to impose on you in order to meet this deadline."

He said calmly "At any time during this conversation, have I questioned the price on anything?"

"No, you haven't" I told him.