Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wooden Bed Frame Recommendations

lilbluebear Guest

Default Wooden Bed Frame Recommendations

I've been browsing based on styles and appearance, and in the bed frame description, it doesn't say exactly what is used. I'm new to furniture buying, and I was wondering if I should get a solid wooden bed frame (I don't want a metal frame). I prefer the Mediterranean look. I want something that's high, not low profiled like a sleigh bed or a bed frame with built in storage. I prefer the large open space underneath the bed.

I found this style particularly to my liking:
    http://www.furniturecart.com/catalin...ml?items=15495

Based on that website, picture and its description:
    Style: Traditional
    Constructed of select hardwood, cherry and olive ash burls
    Decorative parquet pattern
    Cherry finish
    Scallop shells and acanthus leaf carvings

Anybody know if it's a solid wood construct? I tried looking up homelegance reviews and for some odd reason my browser rejected the website being too slow. Can anyone vouch for this furniture company? Any recommendations for other furniture companies that does similar style work and does quality craftsmanship?

Thanks so much in advance for your opinions.

Default Re: Wooden Bed Frame Recommendations

No way in the world that bed is made of solids at that price. What you are getting is junk wood underneath with a veneer. To make a REAL bed like that out of REAL wood (Mahogany, Cherry, etc) would put a price tag on it of $ 8,999.00, not $ 899.00. I understand your budget is not set to spend 10x that amount, but what you are looking at is basically the Acme Furniture Company stuff made in the Phillipines or Vietnam of the cheapest materials they could find and then sprayed a pretty color. I doubt it would last 5 years.