Thread: Shopping for Furniture on a Budget

Jesse Holmz Guest

Default Shopping for Furniture on a Budget

I'm new to shopping for furniture, and I'm still in the researching phase. I've gotten close to picking up some stuff on craigslist but whenever I research the pieces, I end up feeling like it's a waste of money. I'm just looking for some living room pieces at the moment, but I'd rather spend my money on something decent than having to buy something else later on. Where should I begin? I'm in Upstate, NY if that makes a difference.

Default Re: Shopping for Furniture on a Budget

You've come to the right forum. As evidenced by what you see on Craigslist, most people don't buy well made furniture. Furniture is one of the few things that get better looking, more comfortable and longer lasting the more you spend. There are many responses to posts like yours in this forum. If you are really on a tight budget, compile a list of reputable brands and keep your eye on craigslist. I find using a tool like ifttt.com is very helpful as you can receive a text message the instant a matching ad is posted.

Jesse Holmz Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Gabardine View Post
    You've come to the right forum. As evidenced by what you see on Craigslist, most people don't buy well made furniture. Furniture is one of the few things that get better looking, more comfortable and longer lasting the more you spend. There are many responses to posts like yours in this forum. If you are really on a tight budget, compile a list of reputable brands and keep your eye on craigslist. I find using a tool like ifttt.com is very helpful as you can receive a text message the instant a matching ad is posted.
    What brands should I be looking for? Is there a good resource for that?