Thread: Today's Customer

Default Today's Customer

I have been selling furniture since 1986, a 33-year run. In the course of that time I have seen shopping and buying habits change several times, as well as the big recession that wiped out about half the retail furniture stores and almost took out mine as well. As shopping habits change, consumers values do as well. Here's what I am seeing as we come into 2020.

* Amazon has changed the buying habits of consumers - absolutely. And there is an expectation of shoppers that most businesses should fall into that model. Quick availability, accurate arrival dates, shopping cart pricing and ease in buying. And since they expect that kind of shopping ease they gravitate to web sites that sell furniture. The better the website, the more apt they are to buy. The thing is, almost all those pieces are imports and cheaply made. The better quality furniture is not sitting in a box in a warehouse, ready to go because there are just too many choices in covers, styles and trim. Most everything is made to order unless it was brought in a container from China and they have a hundred units all identical.

* Reviews. Shopping decisions are very much influenced by reviews these days and that can be a good thing, but use your own filters to throw out those that are both too glowing and the ones too damning. You will also note that more reviews are done when the pieces are brand new, when the more relevant ones would really be after several months, or even years after ownership. Aslo, people are more inclined to write negative reviews than positive ones for the most part.