Thread: Buying my first bedroom set & overwhelmed - Broyhill, Vaughan..? Who should I avoid?

AcidPop Guest

Question Buying my first bedroom set & overwhelmed - Broyhill, Vaughan..? Who should I avoid?

I'm a recent college graduate looking to buy my first bedroom set. Given the economy, I wasn't able to find a fantastic job even though I worked my butt off in college. I'm stuck with an only so-so one for now. So while I could technically afford a $5000 set with money I currently have in the bank, it probably wouldn't be a smart purchase for me at the moment.

I'm really looking for a bedroom set (including the bed - not the mattress, a nightstand, and a dresser) that doesn't cost too much over $2000, as I also want to buy a curio cabinet for my room. My question is, can I get decent quality furniture for this price, and if so, what brands should I be looking at? I've already found a Broyhill set (the attic heirloom collection?) that I liked, as the mink finish was very unique, but I found pretty poor reviews for them online. I then found a Vaughan-Bassett set I like, but once again found a lot of people bad-mouthing them. Now, I know that there will always be negative reviews for pretty much every company in existence, but I'm terrified of spending over $1000 on furniture that will only last a few years and quickly start to look like garbage. I want something more durable. I DON'T want to have to repurchase everything in 5 years.

Can anyone help me? I feel so overwhelmed at the moment between trying to find this furniture and a decent mattress. I just don't know if I'm being unrealistic (in other words, that the furniture in my price range is all pretty shoddy), what companies to stay far away from, etc.

Default Re: Buying my first bedroom set & overwhelmed - Broyhill, Vaughan..? Who should I avo