Thread: Understanding sectional dimensions and floor space

mightymo117 Guest

Default Understanding sectional dimensions and floor space

Hello,

I’ve enjoyed this forum and I’m learning a lot on what to do and not do when looking for furniture. I currently have a no name, cheap couch that has hit the magical 6 to 7 years in age and is in process of imploding in on itself. I’m trying to purchase the best quality furniture I can find within our single income budget range. If there are details already posted within this forum on what I’m fixing to ask, sorry, I’ve been searching for answers before posting this.

I want to replace this disaster of a couch with a small leather sectional. As a newbie I was having problems understanding all the abbreviations and how they related to how I would view the item if it was in front of me. I have “LAF”, “RAF”, etc. figured out now. H & M threw a few more new ones at me. I still don’t know what the “Q” in “LAQ” is, but I think I know how the piece is measured. The nice thing about the H & M site is that they include a “wall space” dimension on most of the items I looked at. My main confusion is when there is a separate wedge piece involved (sofa, wedge, loveseat). When they give the wedge dimension, is that corner to corner? To get one wall length do you divide the wedge length in half and add it to the length of the other piece (sofa or loveseat)? Also to make sure I have this right, for a sofa/loveseat sectional. Would I add the depth of the sofa to the length of the loveseat to get the true wall length for the loveseat side?