Thread: Where do I look to find furniture manufacturers that want manufacturers' reps?

JimTrail Guest

Question Where do I look to find furniture manufacturers that want manufacturers' reps?

Hello The Keeping Room Forum!

Question: How do I find, or where do I look to find, high end furniture manufacturers that are looking to appoint salesmen to be manufacturers' representatives for their products?

I am a salesman. I sell business checks and forms for small businesses. We're print brokers. There are three of us in this business. Myself and one other person work the Knoxville/East Tennessee market. One other salesman is in Savannah, Georgia.

I am looking to pick up a line of higher end furniture to offer to boutique furniture stores. I would like to have the exclusive right to sell their furniture in the market area that I serve.

There are trade journals, like Furniture Today, that have furniture manufacturers advertising for manufacturers' representatives. They only have a handful of advertisements.

I can find all of the furniture manufacturers in the US and Canada by using the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) or the NAICS (North American Industry Classification System). However, there are hundreds of them in Canada and many thousands in the US. It would be like searching for a needle in a hay stack. I am looking for a more efficient way of finding manufacturers other than the SIC and/or NAICS databases.

I would appreciate any information that anyone could provide.

Thanks.

Default Re: Where do I look to find furniture manufacturers that want manufacturers' reps?