Thread: Glider/rocker recliner combination and evaluation?

inclinedtorecline Guest

Default Glider/rocker recliner combination and evaluation?

Hi,

I am new to trying to find better quality furniture, and I've been doing a fair amount of reading. We are currently on the market for a rocker or a glider recliner (will soon be having a baby), and I would like the back of the recliner to be 39" or taller (I'm 6'2", and my wife is 5'6"). We currently have a recliner that is 39" tall, and another inch or two would be great for head support (but not required). I have studied the forum postings and am interested in Hancock and Moore and Taylor King. For HM, the issue is that it is not clear which chairs both recline and provide a rocking or gliding motion. The HM website lists a variety of swivel chairs, but it is not clear which ones also recline (if they do at all). For both brands, do the gliding motion perform as one would hope and be good for getting a baby to sleep? I've tried out gliding recliners of lower quality brands in local stores, but I didn't want to mistakenly assume that the motion would be similar across all brands? Of those chairs that do seem to both glide and recline, many are a wall hugger chair. While I understand the functionality of a wall hugger recliner, does it affect the comfort of the chair? There aren't really good knowledgeable people to ask near me, and I was hoping that someone may know about these chairs?

Also, are there any recommendations given these requirements? We aren't really tied to fabric or leather, although we have considered that some fabrics may be difficult to keep clean. For now, I have found all 39" and taller models of the TK glider chairs that I believe to also recline (Ambiance, Lankton, Morton). I can't yet identify any HM chairs that would fit these requirements. Would there be any particular reason that HM would not make glider or rocker chairs (other than that there may not be as large of a market)?

Thank you,