Thread: Help Please....The perfect color brown leather...Aspen Tobacco?

Laura C Guest

Default Help Please....The perfect color brown leather...Aspen Tobacco?

I have to say this is the most helpful blog I have ever read regarding furniture and leather education. I have spent the last two weeks reading through the blogs and learned SO MUCH!!! Thank you all!

My question is...I am looking for a protected leather (I have 3 dogs and my family is super hard on furniture - enough said). I have read that the Antelope and Aspen leathers are the readers favorites and so those are the leather "Families" that I am studying. I am looking for a leather to cover the H&M Ruby Club sofa. I really like the antelope almond, nugget and chino options, but I am trying to find an image of a piece that was done in aspen tobacco to make my choice. Would you please post an image of a piece of furniture that was covered in aspen tobacco?

Please educate... Do you suggest a timeless brown "protected" leather option that has that beautiful pebble dimension?
    I have been saving for years to purchase the perfect piece of furniture that will fit the life style of my family, I would LOVE your advice.

Any help would be much appreciated

Default Re: Help Please....The perfect color brown leather...Aspen Tobacco?

Great! Glad you are finding the forum to be useful.....

Those 'favorites' are several years old and out of date. I no longer recommend Antelope as 1) its a Grade 4 leather (expensive) and 2) I've seen a few instances where its not holding up well and peeling. It has a very thin topcoat on it, and I question the sustainability of the hide over time. The Aspen on the other hand, remains a solid choice in its category. Any and all photos are here in the LEATHER section, in RESOURCE PHOTOS. I have no additional images tucked away somewhere.