Thread: Hiring a Decorator

Hybrid View

Default Hiring a Decorator

This past week an inquiry came in from a forum reader on Hancock and Moore sofas and the pricing. As we did our email exchanges the client indicated that he had hired decorators for his newly acquired home and they quoted him $ 17,000 each for the leather sofa he was interested in (x 2 = $ 34,000). That in turn, led him to this forum. Of course, that price is ludicrous and greedy, there is no way around it. Even in a high end leather we can shave $ 10K off the cost of each one if not more. How does that happen?

I have been doing this since 1986, that's 35 years. In that time I have come across many, many customers who use decorators and also had many decorators come into my store for advice and shopping. And here's my takeaway on it all, maybe this will help you avoid falling into the rabbit hole!

A top tier decorator is expensive, certified by ASID and NCIDQ. That means they are licensed and trained in working to building codes in given spaces, and its a continuing education kind of thing, they also have a portfolio book of completed projects to show you to demonstrate their work. You will pay for these top-tier professional decorators and they do good work.

More common is running into someone who is a self-appointed decorator, or who purchased a Decorating Den franchise https://decoratingden.com/, or is fresh out of college and working for a store. They have little formal training and are most interested in getting in and out as quickly as possible while maximizing a sale to you.